Need a temporary, part time, intermittent job.

Okay, so I’m retired and married to an artist, and I need to make some money. But being “sandwiched” in between taking care of my parents and dealing with kids, I don’t really have the time or energy. I know I wrote that we had no children, but God thought it was funny, I guess, for us to have so flippantly made that decision on our own, so He gave us godchildren. And not just any ol’ godchildren, mind you, but godchildren who have immature, dysfunctional, destructive parents, which is why the poor dears need godparents. But that’s a story for a future post. Anyway, I can’t draw from my retirement yet, and I need some income.  I’m too old and tired to start a new career. My back won’t allow me to stand on my feet all day. I need to be available to take my mom where she needs to go (doctor, to visit my dad in the nursing home, etc.). I know there are others in this position, because I hear and read about the “sandwich generation”. But are they all financially stable and/or still working?  Am I the only one with an artist husband? Am I the only one who had to leave their job at age 53? Harkening back to the 70s – – follow your passion, check. All you need is love, check. Work hard, check. What was missing? Don’t be self employed and don’t get sick.  Oops.  Suggestions would be most welcome.  Meanwhile, anybody interested in buying some art?

4 thoughts on “Need a temporary, part time, intermittent job.

    • Actually, it’s my husband’s art (and photography). The life of a starving artist IS just that – starving! If you’re serious about buying, let me know what you are looking for.

  1. Hi to you two Boomer Dinks. Hey love the expression. I have mused over all 3 of your blogs, and would say keep it up, I enjoyed reading them. Know that you are not alone in your quest to make that extra income. If you have read my blogs also, you will note that I am also a Boomer. I too am looking for that elusive extra income. I am currently pursuing an online business, which anyone can do. There are more details on my Blog under the heading Best Biz. I would like to make contact with you and see if I can help you. You can connect with me at http://facebook.com/vastill (private message me)

Leave a Reply

